Big Reds Official Sponsor

Big Reds News · Taylor, Seniors Honored at 19th Annual Cross Country Banquet


Taylor, Seniors Honored at 19th Annual Cross Country Banquet
The 2017 Bellaire Cross Country season came to an official end as the team held their annual banquet in the nearly filled  BHS cafeteria.  Former Bellaire and Alderson Broaddus University cross country runner, Chelsey Taylor was the special guest speaker.   Taylor was part of the first ever girls OVAC Cross Country Championship team in 2002.  Her team went on to win the title again her senior year in 2003.  Taylor and company also qualified to the Regional Championships in 2002 and 2003.  The 2003 team finished with the Regional Runner Up trophy.  The highlights of both seasons took place when the girls team qualified  to the State Championships in back to back years.  They finished 13th place  and 9th place respectively.   Chelsey talked about the impact the Bellaire and Alderson Broaddus coaching staffs had on her life.  Throughout her running career, she was not the best runner on her team.  On meet days,  she was primarily the number four, five or six runner on the team.    Taylor said, “We can’t always be number one.   We truly need a team to succeed in cross country and life..  Surround yourself with good people.”  She reflected on her time with her Bellaire Cross Country family and recalled throwing up on Coach Arno’s shoes during a mile repeat session.
This year’s cross country teams graduated seven seniors. Tiffany Hoffman, Andrew McAninch, Robbie Silber, Jacob Shepherd, Jonathan Shipe, Clay Moore and Zach Lowe all wore their uniforms for the Reds for the last time this fall. Over the past four years, these student athletes etched their names into the BHS history books several times.  Over the last four years, the girls team has won four OVAC titles while the boys team has won three OVAC titles. Hoffman has taken part in three Regional Championship meets and the boys have raced in the same meet twice. Moore was an individual Regional qualifier and won the individual 3A OVAC title this past season.